So I finished up my two weeks of liquid shakes. It went much smoother than I expected. In the end, all I wanted to do was to chew again.

I had my second appointment on the morning of the 31st. I lost 14.6 lbs and several inches in those two weeks. I had a physical exam, saw a psychiatrist an a dietitian, an filled out more paperwork. I had my doctor fax all of my records over so now my chart should be complete. As long as it is complete, it will go before the review panel on Tuesday the 12th. I will be on pins and needles until I hear back.

I had decided that I would not go right out and get unhealthy food after my appointment. I didn’t want to start gaining my weight back and I didn’t want to mess up my system after only liquids for two weeks. I headed over to Jason’s Deli and had a good salad. It was wonder to be able to chew and crunch again.

Since then E and I have been trying to eat healthy. Last weekend we went to a local market and bought tons of veggies and fruit. We are attempting to eat more local foods and eat less at the same time. We have committed to the Skinny Ms. small plate challenge.  We have been trying to eat in only salad plates with only three servings no bigger than the palms of our hands.  I have stuck to it for the most part.  I took a huge step backward on Wednesday when I ate Chinese buffet during a board meeting.  I felt like crap afterward.  I still ate a bit less than I normally would have but it was till way too much.  I have not beat myself up but have chosen to just move forward.

Last weekend I made some cold summer oatmeal with the fresh fruit and it was delicious!  I will be finishing up the fruit this afternoon by making more oatmeal for this week.  I made two servings each of peach, strawberry, and blueberry.  It is so easy and so fresh and I’m hooked.  The only thing I left out was the chia seeds.  This made it a bit runny so this time I’m going to cut back on the skim milk and add just a bit more oatmeal.

Fingers crossed that my file goes before the review board on Tuesday and that I’m chosen for the surgery I want.

