Wednesday was pre-op and pre-admit day at the hospital. I had an upper GI first and found out that I have a hiatal hyernia but the doc will fix that during the surgery. I met with a surgical nurse and the nutritionist. That’s the day things finally got real for me. I’m one who tends to always be waiting for the other shoe to drop so I hadn’t let myself feel the reality of the situation. I finally allowed myself to feel it and it felt great.

Yesterday I had a bit of a hiccup with my leave getting approved but that was all worked out today. Everything is a go for Tuesday.

I received a folder outlining the entire path, including diet, from the nutritionist and there is a lot to plan and think about. I will have to take B12 and multivitamins every day for the rest of my life. Protein, of course, will be the key. Today I headed out to GNC and Wal Mart to pick up all of the supplies and food I will need for the first two weeks. I ended up spending much more than I had expected. Just the clear protein drinks are $5.39 each. I needed enough for two days so that was over $20 right there. Then I had to get whey protein for shakes, vitamins, a blender, and broth, soup, jello, cottage cheese, yogurt, and such. It was enough to make my head spin. But I am ready for the next two weeks anyway.

My plan is to have a good weekend and get three good nights of sleep so I will be rested on Tuesday. Surgery isn’t until the afternoon so I won’t have to get up super early. I’ll be able to pack leisurely before we head out.

This is real, y’all. Wow.

