Hurricane Isaac did a number on us. We lost electricity at about 8 pm Tuesday night and didn’t get it back until 10:30 last night. It was miserably hot, especially for the three dogs. I thought it was going to drive me right over the edge but I made it through.

Fortunately, my new stomach keeps me from stress eating. I actually lived on 1/4 cup of raw nuts for the bulk of my meals over the past week. Probably not the best choice but it was what I had that didn’t need refrigeration. We lost almost everything in the refrigerator so we ended up eating out several times. I confess that on Thursday for lunch I had two fried oysters, a fried shrimp, and a small piece of fried catfish off of Eric’s seafood platter. It was delicious! It was my first fried food since surgery and it will be the last for quite some time.

The good news is that since a week ago Friday, the 24th, I have lost 12.6 lbs! I haven’t been able to exercise all week due to the power outage but I’m back on that tomorrow.

